Skip to main content
PDWare Customer Success Center

08. Managing Scenarios

Overview

The scenario dialog / pane provides management features for scenario owners.

Users define the attributes and system behavior of their scenarios using these features.

Scenario Management Dialog/Pane

All the settings from this dialog/pane remain in effect across sessions.

For example, if a scenario was marked Load but not Show at Logout, after the next Login the scenario will be loaded but will not be visible until the user checks the Show checkbox.

At the next Login the user will see the same environment as was active at the previous logout.

[Note the Apply button at the very bottom right of the dialog.]

clipboard_e165d28a0575cf59aa635fe614616d06e.png

clipboard_ea2da64a767ef238bda9e427dc69387f0.png

Delete

Hover the cursor over the empty column/cell at the far right to expose the action icons for a scenario.

Click the trash can to delete the scenario.

Owners and co-owners can delete scenarios. Administrators cannot delete scenarios unless less they are a co-owner.

clipboard_e9a268714963c9fa5336421ea0b0a5d37.png

Share

Users of scenarios are limited by their system rights; they can see and modify only what they have appropriate rights to.

A user with read and edit rights to one lower level resource OBS node will be able to see that node only

even if the scenario contains assignments from ALL resource nodes.

Share is required if the scenario is Private and you want other users to see or modify scenario objects.

Share can also be used to give co-owner rights to a user for a public scenario. It is not needed to enable users to see or modify a public scenario.

 

Hover the cursor over the empty column/cell at the far right to expose the action icons for a scenario.

Click the arrow icon to define sharing for the scenario.

Co-owners can share scenarios with other users and perform all the manage scenario functions.

clipboard_efb49308b05e4175a1aa14155bc98a914.png

Check the Co-Owner checkbox to give Jerry owner rights.

Note: Jerry does NOT need co-owner rights in order to modify scenario projects and assignments to which he has edit rights.

Click the "+" button to add more users.

clipboard_eb8babfe9d123859d5ddd581dbd43e6bb.png

Edit

Hover the cursor over the empty column/cell at the far right to expose the action icons for a scenario.

Click the 'page with pencil' icon to edit the scenario.

The dialog is identical to the Create Scenario dialog except the Include Children and Include Assignments checkboxes are missing.

clipboard_ebce3fa2d28586ecb7cc7e089a9ccfe26.png

Public / Private Checkbox

Uncheck to make the scenario public. All users can see and modify all or portions of the scenario depending on their rights.

Check to make the scenario Private. Only the owner and any share users can see the scenario.

This attribute can be set in the Edit Scenario dialog as well.

Show / Hide Checkbox

Check and Apply to make the scenario visible. Scenario values ARE included in all analysis and rollup calculations.

Uncheck and Apply to hide the scenario. Scenario values are NOT included in analysis and rollup calculations.

[Show does not require a database load if Load was checked previously. This is a UI performance enhancement.]

Load Checkbox

If unchecked, check and Apply loads the selected scenario AND checks the Show checkbox to display the scenario.  If checked, the scenario will be loaded on every Reload and when the user next logs in.

If checked, uncheck and Apply unloads the scenario AND unchecks the Show checkbox. If unchecked, the scenario will not be loaded on data Reload nor when the user next logs in.

  • Was this article helpful?